Amusements, Antiques, Action

Lakewood Fairgrounds

place image

Originally the site of the City Waterworks, the area became an amusement park in 1894 and home to the Southeastern Fair from 1916 through 1978. The first Southeastern Fair featured livestock, agriculture, automobile show, fireworks, suffragette demonstration and horse racing on the four mile track around the lake. The two exhibition buildings, designed by Edwards and Sayward, Architects, are based on the Spanish Colonial style with beige stucco exterior and red tile roofs.

In 2005 the city bought back the lease from Ed Spivia, who operated the Lakewood Antiques Market there for 17 years.

In May of 2010, the City of Atlanta leased  for 50 years 30 acres of the fairground to EUC/Screen Gems. The media production company plans to build a soundstage on some of the property the historic structures are currently being used for film and TV production.

Listed in 2007

Address: 175 Lakewood Way SW Atlanta, GA  30315
Area of City: South/Southeast of Downtown
Time: 1915-16
Architect/Designer: Edwards and Sayward, Architects